Lay Theme Forum

    • Register
    • Login
    • Search
    • Recent
    • Tags
    • Popular
    • Users
    • Search

    Marquees how to

    General Discussion
    6
    16
    1462
    Loading More Posts
    • Oldest to Newest
    • Newest to Oldest
    • Most Votes
    Reply
    • Reply as topic
    Log in to reply
    This topic has been deleted. Only users with topic management privileges can see it.
    • M
      Maria last edited by

      Hello,

      I was wondering if anyone could be so kind to give me a little help. I have been trying to get marquees on my lay website (should probably point out that I don't know much about coding). I have tried using the simple html tag and also with javascript (https://github.com/ezekielaquino/Marquee3000) and I just can't seem to make it "move".
      Could anyone that has already done this give me a quick run through on how to do it, please?

      Thank you so much.

      1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
      • mariusjopen
        mariusjopen Global Moderator last edited by

        Hi maria,

        since you do not know much about coding – I do not recommend the example you sent.
        Marquees are a very old, basic HTML feature and can easily be embedded just with this simple piece of code:

        <marquee>
        
        One or more lines or text message or image
        
        </marquee>
        

        You need to add it onto the custom HTML section.
        0_1491925482001_Bildschirmfoto 2017-04-11 um 17.43.03.png

        You also can add a div class or other attributes to make it move slower or faster.

        Good luck with this and let me know if you have trouble!

        Best!

        Marius

        www.mariusjopen.world

        1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
        • M
          Maria last edited by

          Thank you so much for your help.
          I can manage to do that. But what I would like is to use the marquee tag in a specific part of the gridder, so I tried to use the tag on the text area, but then it won't move.

          0_1491929566693_Screen Shot 2017-04-11 at 18.51.45.png

          How can I use the marquee on a specific row of the gridder?

          Thank you so much for your time and help.

          1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
          • mariusjopen
            mariusjopen Global Moderator last edited by

            Hi Maria,
            exactly. Marquees don't work in the Gridder yet. We will implement them in the future.

            If you embedd them in the custom HTML are you can only show them on specific pages with custom CSS and display: block for that specific page.

            Let me know when you face problems!

            Best!

            Marius

            www.mariusjopen.world

            S 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
            • S
              strk @mariusjopen last edited by

              @mariusjopen
              Hi Marius! could you explain more this process? it would be very helpful

              Thanks!!

              S

              1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
              • mariusjopen
                mariusjopen Global Moderator last edited by

                HIn @strk ,

                which process? How to embedd a marquee in the Gridder OR the Custom HTML?

                What do you want to achieve?

                Best!

                Marius

                www.mariusjopen.world

                S 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                • S
                  strk @mariusjopen last edited by

                  Hi @mariusjopen, thanks for such a quick reply

                  I was wondering how do I place a marquee on a specific page. I have placed your code onto the custom HTML section and the marquee appears on the main page of my site.

                  Many thanks,
                  S

                  1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                  • mariusjopen
                    mariusjopen Global Moderator last edited by

                    Hi @strk

                    Have a look here:
                    0_1508752494528_Bildschirmfoto 2017-10-23 um 11.47.27.png

                    0_1508752503496_Bildschirmfoto 2017-10-23 um 11.47.55.png

                    0_1508752517212_Bildschirmfoto 2017-10-23 um 11.48.05.png

                    I hoped that helped. If you have more questions – let me know!

                    Marius

                    www.mariusjopen.world

                    S 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                    • S
                      strk @mariusjopen last edited by

                      @mariusjopen Hi Marius, thanks for the quick reply
                      I already did this before asking here but it didn't work.

                      Do I need to place this code also onto the Custom <head> content?
                      When I do this the marquee appears in the home page of my site but I just want the marquee to be in a specific page

                      Thank you and sorry to bother again!

                      1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                      • mariusjopen
                        mariusjopen Global Moderator last edited by

                        HI @strk
                        please don't be sorry. I am here to help!

                        It is weird, because it works on our studio website:
                        http://www.thepeople.world/

                        Best is if you write an email to marius@thepeople.world and include your username, password and a link to this conversation.

                        Marius

                        www.mariusjopen.world

                        1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                        • B
                          badjuju last edited by

                          @mariusjopen

                          I also tried to embedd the marquee in the gridder, and just nothing just shows up. Any idea why that could be?

                          Hugs,

                          juju

                          1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                          • B
                            badjuju last edited by

                            Ok, digging around in html I found that the text in marquee just doesn't have any font styling applied for some reason and was invisible, so have to add that and it should work.

                            1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                            • J
                              JB last edited by

                              I was trying the same thing. I made it work with Text, but images won’t move. They are moving when I’m putting the code in the HTML Head, but no inside the grid. Text will work finde inside the grid.

                              Images just stand there and do nothing :).

                              Do you have any ideas? Any tipps?

                              1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                              • mariusjopen
                                mariusjopen Global Moderator last edited by

                                Dear @JB
                                I would not recommend the classic MARQUEE code but a Javascript solution. Or jQuery. MARQUEE is out of date.

                                Best!

                                Marius

                                www.mariusjopen.world

                                1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                                • S
                                  Sojoer last edited by Sojoer

                                  Hi Marius!

                                  I'm also trying to use a marquee for a clients homepage. As the others said, it worked with adding it to the head but not inside the grid. I'm also pretty new to coding, so I might need a more detailed explanation... You suggest to use Javascript. How does this work? Do I also write Javascript in the custom html and CSS.

                                  It would also be fine if I can use the classic html marquee – but I still wonder how I can change the fontsize and fontstyle here?

                                  Thanks in advance.

                                  1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                                  • mariusjopen
                                    mariusjopen Global Moderator last edited by

                                    Dear @Maria
                                    sure! You can use a classic marquee as well.

                                    You can add it into the CUSTOM HTML area.

                                    Also have a look with the inspector tool which classes get added as paragraph styles.
                                    I think they are called _h1 and so on…
                                    You can use the same classes to add the same style to an element which you use in the CUSTOM HTML area.

                                    I hope that gave you a direction :D

                                    Best!

                                    Marius

                                    www.mariusjopen.world

                                    1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                                    • First post
                                      Last post

                                    I don't answer or check forum DMs, please just post on the forum.

                                    Try this to fix issues before you post:

                                    Use the Search Feature. Maybe there is already a solution to your issue.

                                    1. Update Lay Theme and all Lay Theme Addons
                                    2. Disable all Plugins
                                    3. Go to Lay Options → Custom CSS & HTML, click "Turn Off All Custom Code ", click "Save Changes"
                                    4. Now see if your problem solved itself
                                    5. Go here, see if your problem is listed here:
                                    Troubleshooting

                                    When you post:
                                    1. Post a link to where the problem is
                                    2. If the problem is difficult to explain, post screenshots / link to a video to explain it

                                    Thanks!

                                    Online Users

                                    C
                                    L
                                    A
                                    M
                                    E

                                    Recent Topics

                                    • T

                                      thumbnail grid categories fixed.

                                    • L

                                      BLEND MODE ON MOBILE

                                    • A

                                      A modal/pop up window displaying extra info

                                    • Carousel is not showing

                                    laytheme.com